Project Description

Q & A with Jonas Malabunga

When did you start?

I started playing music in the 4th grade -when I was 9 years old. I began with the saxophone, then played the trombone for a good while as well, picked up the piano and ukulele, but my true instruments are guitar and vocals. I started playing guitar when I was 15, and I started singing when I started playing guitar.

What do you hope to achieve through the Kollaboration experience?

Through the Kollaboration experience, I just hope to achieve and promote the proper recognition that independent artists deserve. It’d be great to win, and I’ll do my best to do so, but I’ll try even harder to just have fun on stage and hopefully put a smile on everyone’s faces.

On a day off, you can find me…

On a day off you can find me in my house playing/practicing guitar for HOURS – literally hours. If I’m not playing guitar, I’m playing basketball either outdoors or indoors for fun. I also like to just hang with friends and family, so you’ll see me wherever they are – haha.

People would be surprised to learn that…

People would be surprised to learn that I play 6 instruments. It’s also a shocker to people when they find out my full first name is actually “Jonas Dei” and not just “Jonas.” I guess it’s kind of my fault anyway because I never actually write down my full first name on papers/documents unless it’s really important – I have no idea why haha.

My biggest inspirations are…

My biggest inspirations are Gabe Bondoc and John Mayer for sure. Gabe and I actually jammed out with a while back ago – maybe late last year – when he had a performance here at UIC. He’s a really down to Earth guy with a humbling gift for music. He’s definitely one of my biggest musical inspirations and a friend. We talk every time he’s in Chicago or online via Twitter, Instagram, etc. every once in a while. John Mayer probably doesn’t know I exist (LOL), but I’ve been listening to his music for YEARS, and (hopefully) you’ll be able to hear some of him in my playing, too.

If I could perform with anybody in the world, it would be…

If I could perform with anybody in the world, it would be Gabe.

Get Your Showcase Tickets!

Get to know Jonas…

Hometown

I’ve been all over the place within my 22 years of life, but it’s safe to say that Skokie, Illinois is my hometown 🙂

Nationality

I am Filipino.

Talent

My talent is music – specifically guitar playing and singing.

Find me on

You can find me on most of the major social medias out there such as: Instagram, Twitter, YouTube, Snapchat, SoundCloud, and Facebook! I’ll leave the links to my social media below in case any of you wanna stop by and say hello! 🙂

YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/jonasmalabunga
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/jonasmalabungamusic
INSTAGRAM: http://instagram.com/jonasmalabunga
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/jonasmalabunga
SOUNDCLOUD: https://soundcloud.com/jonasmalabunga
SNAPCHAT: jdmmmm

See Jonas and the other talented finalists at Showcase 2017.

Get Your Showcase Tickets!